Fat Friday, Saturday and Sunday


Because Tuesday isn’t the only fat one.

I fell off the wagon a little lot bit this weekend, but I have been hitting the gym pretty hard so I’m not going to fall into the flaming pit of self-loathing. At least not to the bottom of it, anyway.

Friday night I had Chinese food, which, to my surprise, is highly fattening and not good for you, although all Chinese people I have ever met are skinny as hell.

The rest of the weekend has been full of 85% healthy choices and 15% I-should-know-better-but-this-tastes-really-good choices, which puts me at a solid B, and I can live with that. This is a lifestyle change. I have to keep reminding myself that this isn’t a crash course in deprivation. I have to give in to myself every now and then, and I won’t lose all the progress I’ve made by indulging myself occasionally. It’s difficult to overcome and cope with the guilt I experience every time I eat something I know I probably shouldn’t have eaten, but everything’s fine in moderation, right? Right!

With all of that being said, I weighed myself this morning and I’ve lost 18 pounds in 35 days. Two more pounds and I will be 1/3 of the way to my long-term goal. Can I get a hot tub?!?

When I got started losing all this weight, I was determined to build a vast library of healthy, tasty recipes that would give me a variety of options to choose from. I didn’t want to be that person eating nothing but boiled chicken and lettuce. The Internet has proven to be an invaluable source for finding a lot of really great recipes, but the one I’ve found that has been the tastiest yet has been the chutney I’ve been using as a topping for my baked salmon.

Baked salmon is totally delicious on its own with just some lemon and salt, but I cannot. stop. eating. this. chutney. It is so refreshing and addicting. And the good news is that it doesn’t just go well with salmon. You can add it to really any type of fish, chicken, or meat. You could even put it over scrambled eggs. Or just eat it out of the Tupperware with a spoon. Not that I’d know anything about that.

I found the recipe on a website called Asado Argentina. Here it is:

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup chopped flat leaf parsley

1 medium onion, finely chopped

4 cloves garlic, finely minced

1/2 a red bell pepper, seeded and finely chopped

1 tomato, peeled, seeded and finely chopped

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon paprika

1 tablespoon salt (I use kosher salt)

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

hot chili flakes to taste

This recipe renders quite a bit of it, so you might be stuck with leftovers if you’re just eating for two or something like that. It holds up to about a week in a sealed container in the refrigerator. However, I am only assuming that, considering it doesn’t even last two days in my house. Enjoy! šŸ™‚

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Fat Friday, Saturday and Sunday

  1. Erika_Isabel says:

    I think you’re doing a great job! I agree, you are allowed to cheat and indulge yourself )in moderation) occasionally, there isn’t anything bad about treating yourself for being so good for so long, otherwise the lifetime change will become a an irrational what-the-fuck! (excuse my French) and you will fall right back where you don’t wanna be, because you didn’t allow yourself to eat that one Oreo cookie or that very tiny piece of cheesecake. In order for this to work and for you to actually want to make this change a lifetime change, you have to gradually transition, which you have been doing anyway and allow yourself to be a little bad every once in a while šŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for the support! šŸ™‚ Yeah, it’s not easy to deprive yourself totally. I have managed to stay away from cheese/milk, coffee and red meat, which doesn’t necessarily feel like deprivation (well, maybe the cheese.. lol), but the Chinese food for example- I wanted some, so I had a sensible portion of it. It’s a learning curve. I’m getting there! šŸ™‚

      • Erika_Isabel says:

        Definitely a learning curve! And sometimes it’s hard to avoid those sweet temptations (i plead guilty) what I am trying now is substituting those cookies or sweets for sweet fruits and i love fruits so it isn’t bad at all. I’m still satisfying my craving but getting fuller by eating something healthier.

Leave a Reply

