Brown Cookies


It isn’t hard to tell that my kids sprung from my loins. Apart from the fact that the oldest one is my spitting image, they are both extremely passionate about their food. Just like their momma.

Oh, and they’re both absolutely hilarious, but I don’t know where they inherited that, because I only consider myself moderately hilarious. 😉

My oldest is the pickiest eater on God’s green earth. His diet is mainly comprised of macaroni and cheese and (vanilla- none of that fruit on the bottom junk) yogurt. He will tolerate pancakes, scrambled eggs (but only with ketchup!) and turkey sandwiches, on his terms only. Other than that, he won’t even lift a new food to put it to his lips.

But that creamy, golden macaroni and cheese? That is his lifeblood. You can’t get between him and a plate of that stuff. And if you try, you may lose an appendage in the process.

On the other hand, my younger son is the polar opposite. He will try anything once, and likes almost everything he tries. You could put a rock on the tray of his high chair and he’d probably try gnawing on it. Like mother, like son.

However, as different as they may seem, there is a holy grail of foods that reigns supreme both with them and with me, too. The food of all foods- the best food ever created, and a food that is capable of causing an all-out brawl in this house, especially if the last one is gobbled up by some mysterious entity that refuses to reveal itself. Kind of like Helen of Troy- the face that launched a thousand ships. This is the food that launched a thousand fights, arguments, and satiated a thousand cravings.

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

My sons and I adore them. As a matter of fact, my oldest son has affectionately given them a nickname- “brown cookies”.

Since my lifestyle change commenced, the “brown cookies” have been pretty scarce here, because I have absolutely no self-control whatsoever when they are present. You don’t even know how many I’ve eaten in one sitting in the past. And I’m pretty sure I don’t even want to tell you, because that’s how embarassing it is.

My son asked for one earlier, and at the mere mention of them, the mother of all cravings swept over me. I wanted a brown cookie. Now. I was actually justifying in my warped little mind, going out to the grocery store simply for a package of Reese’s. Then I decided that the idea of getting in the car and wasting $4/gallon gas for a package of Reese’s was the most ridiculous thing ever thought of in all the worlds.

So I did a little experimenting!

I had just gotten home from the gym, so I wanted to eat something satisfying, that would leave me feeling full for a while. Oatmeal was the perfect answer.

I love oatmeal. It’s one of my all-time favorite foods. Not only is it super good for you, but it’s so yummy! So I prepared some oatmeal, and that’s when the fun began.

In the spirit of brown cookie goodness, I pulled out the peanut butter and the chocolate powder. I added a tablespoon of each to my oatmeal, and voila! Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Oatmeal!

And I sliced some strawberries on top for good measure. 😉

It was really the easiest, tastiest, fastest, most satisfying recipe ever. I couldn’t imagine that I’d be able to quench my Reese’s craving with oatmeal, of all foods, but I did! And it was totally delicious. And in addition to being totally delicious, easy, and fast, it kept me full all afternoon!

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Oatmeal

3/4 cup quick oats

1 1/2 cups water or milk of your choice

1 tablespoon peanut butter

1 tablespoon chocolate powder

sweetener of your choice (optional)

strawberries (optional)

Put the oats and your liquid of choice (I used water) into a microwaveable bowl. Pop that in the microwave for two minutes, take it out and stir it well. Drop one tablespoon of peanut butter and one tablespoon of chocolate powder into it, mix well. I left the sweetener out, since I thought the add-ins sweetened it up plenty. Slice some strawberries on top- perfect breakfast, perfect snack, perfect post-workout meal, perfect midnight snack. It might even be good with shredded coconut or slices of banana on top.

I think I might make this for breakfast tomorrow with bananas on top- this sounds like just the right incentive to waking up bright and early! 😉

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

