Where’s my sombrero?


I have always told anyone who’s willing to listen that I should have been born Mexican.

Mexican cuisine is my absolute favorite cuisine. I (quite obviously) enjoy all food, but Mexican food is, by far, the front runner. Particularly Tex-Mex. Which I know is not authentic Mexican, but it’s so yummy I don’t even care.

My Mexican foods of choice have always been cheesy, gooey enchiladas, fried chimichangas, burritos and tacos overloaded with cheese and sour cream. Be still, my beating heart.

However, I realized quickly that if I kept eating like that, my heart was really going to be still.

Ever since my lifestyle change commenced- which, by the way, I’m down 22 pounds, which elicited a very enthusiastic, “yeah, baby!” in my very best Austin Powers voice- I’ve been trying to figure my way around this Mexican food dilemma. The only way I like my Mexican food is greasy and fattening (and delicious). I can’t reasonably picture myself never eating Mexican food again, considering it’s one of my favorite things to eat. I needed to remedy this situation- and quickly, or else the 6 o’clock news van would be at my local favorite Mexican joint, reporting on a very large woman being removed from the premises with a crane after eating herself into a coma.

I was looking for the opposite of my “norm” when it came to Mexican food- I wanted something refreshing, something healthy and something that would leave me satisfied. As opposed to what I usually treated myself to- something that left me feeling like I needed to make a beeline to the bathroom after I finished the last bite on the plate.

Cue Pinterest.

I’ve recently joined Pinterest, and it has been such a great resource for healthy, delicious recipes. The only downside to Pinterest is that it is slightly more addicting than crack. Needless to say, my “Food” pinboard on Pinterest is overflowing with amazing recipes, but I can’t seem to stop pinning more. I am a pin hoarder. Someone call A&E.

But before you run off and call them, let me share with you the amazing Mexican-inspired recipe I found! It fulfilled all of my wishes- refreshing, check. Healthy, check. And it left me TOTALLY satisfied!

Shrimp & Mango Burritos

1 – 1 1/2 pounds large-extra large shrimp

1 1/2 tablespoons Jamaican jerk seasoning

Tortillas (I used the large flour ones, but you can use regular sized flour or corn, it’s a matter of personal preference)

1 1/2 tablespoons fat-free or reduced fat mayonnaise

1/2 cup sliced red onion

2 cups cabbage, sliced very thinly

1 ripe mango, diced into bite size chunks

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1-2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

Take your shrimp and add it to a non-stick pan with a little bit of olive oil or non-stick spray at the bottom. Add the jerk seasoning to the shrimp and cook the shrimp until they’re pink and heated through. Heat the tortillas in the oven or in the pan, until they’re warmed through. Mix the rest of the ingredients in a bowl. Pour some of the cabbage mixture onto one side of your warm tortilla, put some of the cooked, seasoned shrimp on top of that, and voila! Delicious, refreshing, and satisfying. Check, check, check!

The recipe I followed suggested pairing these burritos with a cucumber, cilantro, and radish salad, which was right on the money. I also served it alongside some avocado. Food of the gods.

Now you can call A&E. 😉

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

