Feaster


I realize that I probably have no readers left, since I have pretty much abandoned my blog for the last four days or so.

I sincerely apologize, but this past weekend was super hectic and busy, but I’m back! Which will elate some of you and I’m sure will also make others wish I’d just shut up already.

I haven’t weighed myself since last week, because I’m terrified of the number the scale is going to reveal. My scale and I are no longer on speaking terms. I think he’s feeling pretty sad and neglected, and I can’t blame him. I have been avoiding him like the plague. I don’t even glance his way on the way in or out of the bathroom. I realize it is impossible for me to gain 23 pounds back in one weekend, but I think I ate enough Reese’s eggs and marshmallow creatures to gain back a solid 22.5.

Needless to say, I fell off the wagon in a big way Easter weekend- as a matter of fact, I am renaming this past weekend to Feaster weekend. Because I feel like all I did was feast my face off. And I don’t really think I “fell off” the wagon, per se- I think a better analogy would be that I was hurled off the wagon by a giant Peep with enough force to break every bone in my body.

I’m trying to get back on track with my eating and gymming. I’m going to console myself with knowing that it isn’t about how many times you fall off, but how many times you dust yourself off and get back up. At this rate, I am feeling pretty damn dusty, but I’m back at it and that’s all that matters.

With all of that being said, we had a lovely (F)Easter weekend, with a lot of good, quality food family time. My kiddos were elated when they saw their Easter baskets, which they promptly consumed the entire contents of, then proceeded to act like total crackheads the rest of the day. I don’t think I fully understood the term, “sugar high” until yesterday. It got to the point where my almost-three-year-old’s mouth was moving so fast that I couldn’t understand what was trying to come out of it.

Reminder: next year, lots of trinkets, toys, books and non-chocolate and marshmallow goodies for their baskets.

Of course, we had an extra delicious and decadent Easter dinner, per tradition. Our dinner included an absolutely delicious butternut squash soup, and, despite the fact that butternut squash soup is typically a Fall recipe, it was so darn good (and easy! and fast!) I’m going to share it with you right in the middle of Spring.

Butternut Squash Feaster Soup

1/2 a stick of butter

1 large onion, chopped

about 6 cups of butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and chopped into 1″ pieces

4 cups of chicken broth

salt and pepper to taste

2 8 ounce packages of cream cheese

Melt your butter in the bottom of a deep pot. Sautee your onions in the melted butter until they’re soft and translucent. Add your chopped squash, chicken broth, salt and pepper, then cover your pot and bring it to a boil. Cook the squash about 20-30 minutes or until the squash is tender. Take a slotted spoon and scoop all the squash into a blender or food processor along with the cream cheese until it’s smooth. Add the pureed squash/cream cheese mixture back to the liquid in the pot, give it a good stir, and heat it through.

If you don’t want to make it as rich, you can add half the cream cheese, or use reduced fat/fat free cream cheese, or maybe even omit the cream cheese entirely. I can’t attest to the fact that the recipe sans cream cheese is as good as it is with the cream cheese, but it sure smelled good prior to adding the cream cheese, so maybe just pureeing the squash and adding it back to the liquid might be really yummy, too. Next time I make it, since it will most likely not be for a special occasion, I’m making a lighter version and only adding half as much reduced fat cream cheese. But I’m definitely making this again, soon. This was really, really, really good. I may or may not have had three bowls of it last night.

Don’t tell my scale that.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Feaster

  1. Rainy says:

    I Lurve you!

Leave a Reply

