Family Vacation


Well, it’s officially that time of year again. No, in case some of you are wondering, I’m not going on another blogging hiatus, so don’t get your hopes up, sucka! I’m actually enjoying blogging quite a bit, and it’s proven to be a very enjoyable outlet for me. Usually, I have nobody to really talk to about anything, except for my husband, and he can only tolerate so much of my endless banter before I start feeling sorry for him, so thankfully, I have my awesome readers here to torture with my asinine ramblings! Yay! Aren’t you so glad to be here?!

Now that we are steadily approaching the close of February, my husband and I have been discussing travel plans. It seems that around this time of year, with Spring Break on the horizon and the end of school a mere three to four months away, people start planning family vacations. This will be the first family vacation that my husband and I have been on with our three kids, so I’m hoping for an amazing, fun, exciting experience that helps us bond as a family, but I’m also being realistic and expecting to need a Valium by day two.

In preparation for this great undertaking, I’ve taken the liberty of reading various blogs and articles about family vacations, and one thing that has resonated with me as important is organization. Being that I am a pretty organized person by nature, I am hoping this comes naturally to me, and we don’t get halfway to LEGOLAND and realize that I didn’t pack any underwear for anybody. With that being said, I’m going to use this blog post as a place for my list of things to bring and tasks to complete prior to our family vacation.

1) Underwear. For everyone.

2) A gratuitous amount of snacks for Leland to eat, because he cannot go three minutes without asking for something to eat, and he makes less noise when he’s got food in his mouth. On that note, also be sure to bring sixty boxes of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese, because Carl won’t even entertain the thought of eating anything else, and make sure to strap a cow to the hood of vehicle to ensure we have enough milk for the duration of the four and a half hour car ride.

3) The kids’ Kindles, our Smartphones, and my laptop, in addition to chargers for each of those electronic devices, because heaven forbid we end up lost somewhere on our voyage, we’re going to need to Facebook and blog about it. Also, Angry Birds is important.

4) Headphones to tune out the inevitable screeching that will be emanating from the backseat after enough time of being trapped in one car within a few feet of one another. They can barely make it to the grocery store without somebody getting knocked upside the head. Perhaps I can install a cage in the backseat of our car, and charge people to watch cage fights between Carl and Leland at rest stops. This may be a great way to help alleviate gas expenses.

5) Look into the cost of cage installations in motor vehicles.

6) Enough changes of clothes for us to survive a four hour car trip, so that when we arrive at the hotel, my children are not covered in juice stains, Goldfish cracker crumbs, and chocolate smears, at which point we can attempt to convince the kind hotel staff that we are not going to leave the hotel room looking like Black Sabbath spent the last four days there.

7) An exorbitant amount of DVDs, CDs, books, and games that will most likely end up thrown on the floor or directly at my head.

8) Our double stroller. This thing has been a complete godsend, and I don’t know what I’d do without it. For those of you who are curious, it’s a BabyTrend Navigator side-by-side double stroller. It’s got an incredibly smooth ride, it’s aesthetically beautiful, and it’s got a neat partition in the middle that helps block the fists from flying. Also, it enables me to strap two of the little darlings in. I was not compensated by BabyTrend for that review. But I should’ve been.

9) Cuban coffee and a Cuban coffee maker. I’m sure you’re all chuckling, thinking that I’m kidding. Seriously, lady? Bringing your own coffee and coffeemaker? But if I’m going to endure four days at Nick Suites and LEGOLAND, you better damn well believe there’s going to be a considerable amount of Cuban coffee involved. They just better be lucky I’m not filling those coffee cups up with wine. Next on the six o’clock news, drunk, disorderly mother removed from LEGOLAND premises for building a penis out of Legos.

10) My patience. Because I’m pretty sure I’m going to need quite a bit of it.

2 thoughts on “Family Vacation

  1. Joyce says:

    This was a riot. How do you get a side by side stroller through the door ways? We always had a front to back for that reason. Your trip sounds fun.
    will comment back – http://www.oldefashionmom.com

    • Haha, glad you enjoyed it! I had that fear about the stroller not fitting through doorways and gates and things like that, but I’ve actually never had a problem. We’ve been to malls, stores, the zoo, museums, and it’s always fit- sometimes just barely, but it squeaks through! Lol. Thanks for reading and commenting! I’ll follow you 🙂

Leave a Reply

